Book Review : The Five Love Languages

2nd post #MyFriendAlexa

Love language


Book : The five Love Languages

Author : Gary Chapman

Pages : 203

The first chapter itself is titled “What happens to love after the wedding ?”  Author Gary Chapman, in this book, has propagated that there may be number of languages used to communicate with people, but to express love to your spouse or loved one, you should learn and speak the love language of your spouse. That’s the key to a long lasting loving marriage.

Not only to your spouse but this theory applies to your children and all your loved ones.  There is an “emotional tank” in each child waiting to be filled in with love. You fill it with your warm hugs, cosy talks, affection and care. And in return you achieve the satisfaction and happiness of upbringing a normal and happy child. But what happens when the love tank is empty ? Could you care to fill this love tank in your husband too?

I will mention the five love languages here as crisp as possible.

# Love Language 1 – Words of affirmation –  It is the first and the most widely accepted love language. Use kind and encouraging words with your spouse to communicate love verbally to your spouse. Even mind the undertones also.

“If an apple a day keeps the doctor away then surely a compliment a day will keep the counsellor away.”

# Love Language 2 – Quality time – Quality time is the undivided attention which you need to provide to your spouse. Sitting on a couch, hand in hand, watching Netflix is surely not spending quality time. Quality time is when only and only you two are involved directly in talking by walking and spending time with each other.

# Love Language 3 – Receiving gifts – Wait, don’t think of preparing a list of gifts you wish to receive from your spouse. Do not attach monetary value to the gift when you receive it but accept it as the token of love . Aren’t we teaching this to our kids  so then why not us?

# Love Language 4 – Acts of Service – Some couples do things they know their spouse would love them to do. These acts of service can be anything from making beds, managing kids, cleaning house, washing dishes to even cooking a meal. These little acts support the otherwise rocking marriage.

# Love Language 5 – Physical touch – The physical touch is another important aspect. According to author Gary Chapman if your spouse’s love language is physical touch then you need to understand it. A bear hug to a child is always welcomed by him but to a physically motivated and a demanding child, a bear hug may mean more than anything.

I would definitely recommend this book to those couples whose marriage is not sailing smoothly. It has some real life examples of mistakes we commit just by using wrong words and undertones while speaking. You will definitely relate to one of the love languages.

Discover your love language and help others too to know it.

I am taking my Alexa rank to the next level with Blogchatter.


4 thoughts on “Book Review : The Five Love Languages

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s